Original Doodles

Redditers

Posted on: October 23, 2011

It seems to me that bashing homophobia is the trendy thing to do now. I completely support ending hate in all forms but I find it particularly interesting how unacceptable homophobia has become amongst young men. I mean, I guess it is not at all surprising that young people most readily accept homosexuality as normal and homophobia as vial but it is surprising how the Reddit community has embraced homophobia bashing. The community has this ‘engineering common room’ sort of feel to it and I woudn’t normally peg that group of people as the most accepting of homosexuality so the fact that so many straight male Redditers gloat about how they trolled homophobic nut jobs on their Facebook wall really says a lot about how far the gay community has come. The feminist movement has not made such advancements. There are no screen shots of Facebook walls of men putting other men in their place for hateful misogynistic comments. Why is that? How did the women’s movement stumble? I wish I knew. I wish we were farther along. I would think that the same social forces that have allowed gay people to live as they please would also support women’s rights but I guess not. Both movements would definitely benefit if we allied forces. True equality will take billions of years if we have to address these issues one minority group at a time. Just something to think about.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • autonomousspirit: Live drawing is pretty...different, I will say that. Especially if you have a professor or course instructor constantly peering over your shoulder! P
  • originaldoodles: Thanks so much! I really appreciate the feedback. Its been a while since i've posted any drawings but knowing that I have an audience will definitely
  • autonomousspirit: Hello! I thought you might like to know I found your page while googling pen and ink drawings, & I love your focus on the organic atmosphere! :)

Categories

